Kore Business

What is it they say?

A change is as good as a holiday.

Not too sure about that but a change it has been over the last couple of weeks.

My time with PB ended in March. A corporate restructure. A reduction of management roles and efforts to reduce overhead costs meant my role as Executive Knowledge & Business Systems no longer existed. I saw this as an opportunity and believed this would free me up to work on some of the bigger challenges facing the organisation, but decisions were made not to pursue such opportunities.

It doesn’t mean that KM has gone away, the KM team is still there doing some fantastic things for the staff and clients, just that it has now been added to the portfolio of the CIO who I know see’s it as very different to existing technology functions, but I am not sure the assumptions others will make will be easily shifted.

So one door closes and another opens. I had been planning on putting my toe in the water and seeing what the market is like for someone of my skills and experience to freelance, just perhaps not so quickly.

Unlike other severances I had experienced in the past (mainly due to foreclosure post dot bomb), I have found myself with enough funds to set myself up and sustain us for a few months. So Kore Business is born and I’m still going through setting up companies, insurance and banking arrangements.

As most of you would know, I am a constant networker so a number of opportunities have come up and I am currently working with a client through Glentworth 3 days a week for the next couple of months.

I have yet to nail down a defined offering but looking at consulting, facilitating, training, coaching and mentoring across IM, KM, business improvement, technology and innovation.

Wish me luck and let me know if you need a hand with anything 😉 ?

More to come.

Cory

Leave a Reply

